Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Steely & Clevie: Digital Revolution

Bookmark and Share

(17 NORTH PARADE/VP RECORDS, NEW YORK) – Jamaican-born production team Wycliffe “Steely” Johnson and Cleveland “Clevie” Browne are more than producers – they are pioneers of dancehall reggae’s digital age. Thus, it is only fitting that this compilation album featuring their top hits is deemed Digital Revolution, set for release on January 25, 2011 from 17 North Parade, a division of VP Records.

Having built their world-renowned reputations as studio musicians, with Steely playing keyboards and Clevie playing drums, the duo rose to prominence as the house band at King Jammy’s studio at the time when drum machines were first introduced on reggae records. They quickly became Jamaica’s hottest production team and together forged a sound that would rule the dancehall scene for decades. Their imprint logged numerous top Jamaican hits and multiple U.S. crossover radio hits from 1989 to 2005.

Digital Revolution is a three-disc collector’s edition that includes 42 of their most influential and biggest hits on discs 1 and 2. Disc 3 is a DVD that contains a 1988 interview and studio demonstration with Steely and Clevie filmed for the Jamaica Broadcasting Company (JBC), as well as a 2005 interview with the producers sponsored by Red Bull Academy. This collection presents fan favorites and rare insight on two of reggae’s most influential producers – a must have for collectors, and fans, everywhere.


1. Whole Heap A Man – Lady G & Sugar Minott
2. Sorry – Foxy Brown
3. Ram Dance Hall – Tiger
4. Oversized Mampie – Gregory Peck
5. Fast Car – Foxy Brown
6. Take You To The Dance – Anthony Malvo & Daddy Lizard
7. No One In The World – Chevelle Franklyn
8. Hortical Don – Ninjaman
9. Still Say Yes – Wayne Wonder
10. Shower Me With Your Love – Singing Melody
11. Cassandra – Frankie Paul
12. Murder Dem – Ninjaman
13. Retreat – Cutty Ranks
14. Poco Man Jam – Gregory Peck
15. Drum Pan Sound – Reggie Stepper
16. Caan Dun – Shabba Ranks
17. Sonia Come Back – Cocoa Tea
18. Loving Pauper – Freddie McGregor
19. Good Love – Chevelle Franklyn
20. Fatty Fatty – Leroy Sibbles
21. All The Woman I Need – Garnett Silk


1. Trailer Load A Girls – Shabba Ranks
2. When – Tiger
3. Mama – Baby Wayne
4. Ting A Ling – Shabba Ranks
5. Press Up – Poison Chang
6. Double Trouble – Beres Hammond
7. Shot A Talk – Cobra
8. Love of A Lifetime – Junior Tucker
9. Love Is The Answer – Garnett Silk
10. You Don’t Love Me (No No No) – Dawn Penn
11. Baby You And I – Wayne Wonder
12. It’s All Over – Buju Banton
13. When I Hold You Tonight – General Degree
14. Call The Hearse – Bushman
15. Pure Gal – Harry Toddler
16. Battery Dolly – Beenie Man
17. Haffi Get Da Gal Yah (Hot Gal Today) – Sean Paul & Mr. Vegas
18. Cook – Lexxus
19. Old Crook – Mr. G
20. I’m Still In Love With You – Sean Paul & Sasha
21. As A Man - Assassin

Please direct all press inquiries to the VP Records Publicity Department - Rhona Fox at 718-425-1151 or rhona.fox@vprecords.com.

1 comment: